Nearly to Newly Domestic: Chicken + Veggie Fried Quinoa

Monday’s are the nights I kick off my weekly workout routine with my weekly weigh-in and a kettlebell class (operation Fit Bride).  It’s also my night to cook (yes, my fiance and I have set a schedule for who cooks which nights – it helps even out the workload).  For the past few weeks I’ve been wanting to try this recipe I pinned on Pinterest, Veggie Fried Quinoa (like veggie fried rice, but using quinoa which is packed with more protein than brown rice), from Damn Delicious, but just haven’t had the time.  Monday night, I made time [it’s crazy how a half hour workout can boost your motivation].  I adjusted this recipe a little bit by adding some chicken and substituting some of the veggies she uses for others.  Here’s my modified recipe:

Ingredients:

– 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast

– 2 eggs

– 1 tablespoons olive oil

– 1 teaspoon minced garlic

– 1/2 cup chopped white onion

– 1 package of frozen corn, peas, carrots and green bean veggie mix (I got mine from Trader Joe’s)

– 3 cups cooked quinoa

– Soy sauce to taste (I probably used about 1/4 cup)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, place tinfoil on baking sheet

2. Cut excess fat from chicken breast and place on baking sheet, bake for 40 minutes or until juices run clear.  Once done, shred using two forks.

3. Meanwhile, in a large frying pan, fry two eggs over medium-high heat

3. Once eggs are fried, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil, onions and minced garlic in same pan and cook until onions are translucent (about 3-4 minutes)

4.  Add fresh broccoli and stir until tender (about 3-4 minutes)

5.  Add whole package of frozen vegetables, stir until tender (6-7 minutes)

6.  Add cooked quinoa and shredded chicken with all ingredients, mix well

7.  Pour soy sauce over and mix until well coated

8.  Enjoy!

Here is how mine turned out:

chicken+veggie quinoa

please don’t mind my dirty stove – just focus on the deliciousness at hand.

Now that I’ve got your mouth watering, scoot over to Damn Delicious to see the original recipe, and step by step instructions with more photos.  And then head out to the grocery store to pick up your ingredients to make this super yummy, super healthy meal for your next dinner!

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

