Becoming a Fit Bride – A No Gym Needed Full Body Workout

Yesterday marked the 6 month mark to our wedding date – which means I have roughly 180 days until I have to look the best I ever have [ok, that’s a bit dramatic, but I really want to look the best I ever have so it’s a true statement].  I also have about a month and a half to look great for my all-girls Vegas trip.  I have big expectations for these two events!

As I have mentioned in the past, my fiance is a personal trainer, so I have the opportunity to take some fitness classes and have workout routines available at my disposal.  In addition, I’ve had the opportunity to meet some other fitness professionals, so I’ve had chances to do a variety of different types of training.  Recently, I took a hip-hop class with the wife of my fiances coworker – she has a super ripped body and has more energy than a 7-year-old who drank a can of Mountain Dew and downed some gummy bears so I knew it’d be a good class [it was, even though I realized I don’t have the rhythm I thought I did].  After the class, I was added to her email list and no receive weekly “Fit Tips” that include everything from recipes to workout tips and ideas – which is exactly where today’s post is coming from.

I’m attempting to work out at least 3 times a week, but with work and social commitments, it’s sometimes hard getting to the gym as much as I would like.  When this workout was sent over, I thought two things: 1. Awesome – I can totally do this total body work out from home with no equipment, and; 2. Holy soreness – this will be exhausting [but I bet I’ll feel great afterward].

Start with a 3-5 minute warmup that includes running in place and jumping jacks

Exercise 1: Wall Sit– In a squat position with back supported against the wall. (make sure the knees are not over your toes). Hold this Wall sit until failure, and then immediately stand up and start doing regular Squats until failure. Rest 30 seconds.
Repeat this 3 more times before doing the next exercise. (4 sets total)
Exercise 2: Wall Sit- Until failure, and then immediately go into Alternating Lunges for 1 minute. Rest 30 seconds. Repeat this 3 more times before moving on.
Exercise 3: Decline Push up– With your feet up on couch and legs straight. Hands wide on floor- abs tight! Repeat push ups until failure. *If you are a newbie, skip these push ups and start with the next* Once you hit failure, move immediately into Standard Push Ups– on your knees (modified) or your toes, proceed until failure. Next move right into Incline Push Ups with hands on the sofa,- proceed until failure. Now you can rest 30 seconds.
Repeat the above 3 more times.
Exercise 4: Double Crunch– Lying on your back with feet up and legs almost straight, lifting/rolling hips up off of floor and curling knees in while lifting the head/neck and shoulder blades as well. Hands are behind your head but not pulling on your head and neck. Your knees come towards your torso while simultaneously bringing your elbows to your knees. Do this for 30 seconds and then move into a Standard Crunch for 30 seconds. Next move into a Plank on your elbows for 30-60 seconds. Now rest 30 seconds. Remember to keep your Abs tight through every exercise.
Repeat the above 3 more times.

Are we tired yet?  I haven’t had a chance to try this workout yet, but I definitely will let you know how it goes.  I have a feeling I’ll need a towel nearby, and lots of water… and a mental note of this motivation below.  For more motivation, check out my Pinterest board full of great images and quotes like this one.

Happy workout, ya’ll!

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

