Becoming a Fit Bride: Jump Into a Cardio Routine & Dress the Part

With roughly 5 months to go until our wedding, I’m still trying to get myself into a routine of working out on a regular schedule and eating better.  You would think that with my Vegas trip just a few short weeks away, I would have a little extra motivation to get fit and skinny… but even that hasn’t worked.  I’ve been enjoying myself a bit too much Easter candy and not enough veggies.

As I’ve mentioned in past posts, my fiance is a personal trainer.  One nice perk of marrying someone with this kind of profession is the amount of workouts at my disposal… and the ability to take some of his small group classes.  If you haven’t watched his kettlebell video I posted awhile back, you should – it’s a great workout for anyone who is looking to get some cardio and strength training in and doesn’t require more than 30 minutes of your day.  Which is one of the reasons why it’s my Monday and Wednesday workout routine.  But I need more than 2 days of working out in one week… and I need cardio to burn fat to show off my strength training results.   [Why oh why can’t I just have perfect genetics like a Victoria’s Secret model?]

And with all of that said, for anyone who knows me, they know how much I HATE cardio.  I would rather do a 2 hour strength training workout than 30 minutes of cardio.  It’s so boring… and it makes my lungs hurt [insert eye rolls here… I know my lungs wouldn’t hurt if I did it on a more consistent basis but you really don’t understand how much I hate it].  And I need a little more excitement in my cardio workouts than running on a treadmill or doing the stair stepper.  So here is a workout that my fiance threw together that’ll get your heart racing like you haven’t felt it race before [ok, maybe just in a little while].  It should take you roughly 40 minutes to complete and can be done at your gym or outdoors… anywhere that allows you room to sprint!  You’ll also need a jump rope, so head to your local sports store or check out Amazon to get you one!

Jump Into Cardio Workout

1 minute sprinting
2 minutes walking
1 minute jump rope

Do this set 4x

Once set completed, do 25 burpees

Once burpees are completed, repeat sprint/walk/jump rope set 4x

Finish with 25 more burpees

So in total, you should go through the sprint/walk/jump rope set 8x and do 50 burpees.

Think you are up for the Jump Into Cardio challenge?  I think I’ll have to try this one out!

So, let’s get to the fun part of the post!  Because it’s proven that it’s more fun to workout in cute clothes, I threw together an inspiration board of an UBER cute workout outfit – props to Nike for all their cute pink clothes.  Every FitBride needs to dress the part.  Check out my Polyvore page to see pricing and where you can buy these items.

 

Well, there you have it.  A workout and some eye-candy.  Hopefully this has inspired you to get out there and jump into a cardio routine.

Xo,

Cammi

2 thoughts on “Becoming a Fit Bride: Jump Into a Cardio Routine & Dress the Part

  1. Yes! I need to do this… and couldn’t agree more on the cute workout clothes. Hard to justify at a time when you’re spending so much on the wedding, but I still think it’s worth it!

    • I completely agree on the additional spending, but if it’ll get me exciting about working out (excited might be stretching it) then I’ll take it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

