Nearly to Newly Vacationed: Where I’ve Been…. Vacation Recap

Oh hello Nearly to Newly readers!  I’m terribly sorry for the lack of posting lately. I have had a lot to do for my Vegas trip that has now come and gone… leaving me dead tired and worn out for the past couple of days.  I’m going to try to keep this short and sweet tonight because I’m going to prep for some upcoming posts… I just want to let you all know that I’m not done with this little ol blog – in fact, I’m just getting started!  I’ll give you a quick recap of my Vegas vacation!

Nearly-to-Newly-Vacationed

Last week was spent prepping for my trip – I had lots left to get for the trip [call me a procrastinator].  I had to buy dresses, shorts, swim suits, shoes, under garments, hair and make-up products, snackies for the plane, etc.  You know, all the must-haves for a successful trip in Sin City!  Then I had to pack. Oye… while I was only going to be there for 3 nights I managed to pack a suitcase that weighed more than 40 lbs [still under the 50 lb max Southwest allows], which included all the things I bought for the trip.  Did I wear all things I packed?  Of course not.  Did I need options?  Of course – what sensible girl doesn’t?

I’m sure you’re over hearing what I packed, so let’s get to the good stuff… the trip itself.  I went with a group of 11 girls for a long girls trip away [after all winter Minnesota’s had, I definitely need a warmer climate].  While there was a large group of us, I have really only met a couple of them.  I went because one of the girls is one of my best friends, and the rest of the girls were here college teammates from back in South Dakota.  So while it was fun, I think it could have been more fun with a group of girls who I knew better – but it was definitely great meeting new girls!

We left Friday we night and got in late and headed straight to our hotel [where we got upgraded to a pretty sweet suite] to get ready for our first night.  Finally we went out to the first bar at 2 a.m. [so 4 a.m. Minnesota time… yikes].  We headed to a couple of bars on the strip [Chandelier Bar and the Haze] and then called it a “night” around 5 a.m.  Getting up at about 9:30 a.m., we got ready for our day of country music at the ACM’s Party for a Cause at the Orleans.  We got to see Lee Brice, Hunter Hayes, Eli Young Band, Love and Theft, and Dierks Bentley.  So fun!  After a quick power nap and a burger from In and Out, it was back to bar hoppin’ at Gallery in Planet Hollywood.  The other girls actually went to another bar but I had contact problems all day so I called it a night early at like 3 a.m.  Sunday was a recovery day at the MGM Grand pool – enjoying a cabana with drinks and the lazy river… probably my favorite day in Vegas… and much needed. After a long day at the pool, we relaxed a bit and got ready to hit it hard on our last night.  We met up with the larger group around 10 p.m. at XS at Encore.  LMFAO was set to show up [and to be honest, I can’t remember if they did… the night was that good].  We met tons of fun people at this bar – by far my favorite night out!

So then let’s talk about Monday’s return.  Ugh – I just get chills thinking about how terrible I felt in the morning… followed by how terrible it was to wait in an airport for 8 hours [yes, you read that right… my flight was delayed multiple hours] before finding out I missed my connecting flight after I already got to Phoenix.  Ew. So what did I have to do?  Wait around the PHX airport for an extra 2 hours waiting for them to find my luggage, then head to a somewhat sketchy hotel to try and sleep for 2 hours before turning around and heading back to the airport at 4 a.m. to catch a 6 a.m. flight that had a layover in St Louis and then get in Minneapolis at 1 p.m. Whew… what an experience!  I honestly think I have terrible luck with flying!  This isn’t the first time I’ve run into troubles trying to get home… it seems to be a recurring issue.  But trying to return home after a Vegas vacation is beyond worse than any other airline issues I’ve had in the past!

And here I sit – uber tired and worn out… waiting for the weekend to come so I can relax [and treat myself to a lovely massage on Saturday].  And of course, write some new posts for you all to read [and hopefully enjoy!].

Well… there’s a recap of where I’ve been the past week or so and why I’ve been missing [sorry to be so wordy, I know I said it would be quick].  Please be sure to come back and see what else we’re up to on this little ol’ blog!

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

