Nearly to Newlywed: Won’t You Save the Date?

I haven’t really had a chance to share many details of my wedding, only where I’m at in the planning process and how much I have left to do.  So today I wanted to share with you my Save the Dates to provide a little insight into my wedding.  ** Before I get too deep into this post, please let me apologize for the terrible quality of photos I have to share – I really need to start using my DSLR camera that I got for Christmas… but that requires that I remember I have it and then learn how to use it!**

As I’ve mentioned in the past, I’m a lover of stationery… part of my dream job would include designing stationery for a living [that’s in addition to becoming a professional blogger, event planner, photographer… but hey, they all go hand-in-hand, right?!].  Because of this stationery obsession, I knew that I had to have a Save the Date for my wedding.  The DIY’er in me knew that I had to design them myself [and the frugal Freda in me agreed DIY was the right way to go].  Before getting engaged I had pinned a variety of Save the Dates but there was one that I constantly went back to for inspiration, primarily because I just loved the saying on it.  I’ve seen a couple of other couples use the same phrase when doing their Save the Dates so I didn’t feel as bad using it for mine.  Plus, I’m not trying to sell these or anything so I’m not considering it copying!

These Save the Dates saved me quite a bit of money by doing them myself.  Because I designed a postcard, I was able to buy stamps that cost less than a normal card with an envelope.  Between the price of the stamp and the price of printing, each card only cost me 65 cents – that’s half, if not more than half, of what it would have cost me to have someone design and print them for me only! For a wedding the size of mine, any type of savings is key and this was one area I was happy to put some elbow grease in to ensure some savings.

So without further adieu, here they are!  Again, these photos are not my best, so graininess and color clarity aren’t where they should be, but I wanted to share my work and give you a peek into my wedding!

Save the Date Front - colors are navy, lime green and white

Save the Date Front – colors are navy, lime green and white

Save the Date Back - colors are navy, lime green and white

Save the Date Back – colors are navy, lime green and white

This should give you a good idea of the “theme” of my wedding – if you can call it that.  My fiance and I like to think we’re fun people so it’s important to us to make sure our wedding reflects our personalities.  I describe our wedding as being laid back but still wedding formal – of that makes sense!  I definitely don’t want people showing up in jeans and t-shirts, but I want everyone to have a great time!  And I definitely think that’s the message our Save the Date sends!  I received so many compliments from my family and friends on our these – all reminding me how excited they are to be a part of our day.  To me, besides getting married to my man, that’s the most important piece of my wedding – spending it with loved ones who leave the night saying it was one of the best weddings they’ve attended.

I’ve got some more DIY projects coming up for our wedding this weekend.  I’ll try to take better photos [yes, I’ve heard of natural light… let’s see if that improves my photography skills].  I also told you last week that I would have photos from my first bridal shower and bachelorette party this past weekend.  Well, needless to say, I had too much fun and there are no photos to share!  I’ll try to take some of the other showers I have coming up but no promises are coming out of this mouth for fear I won’t have anything!

Have you received a Save the Date that you just loved?  How about Save the Dates for your own wedding – did you love them?  Did you have them made or did you DIY to save money or make them more unique?

Xo,

Cammi

One thought on “Nearly to Newlywed: Won’t You Save the Date?

  1. Pingback: Nearly to Newly Engaged: Where to Start | From Nearly to Newly

Leave a Reply

