Nearly to Newly Engaged: Wedding Planning Resources

Happy Hump Day, friends!  I hope everyone’s week is off to a fabulous start and weekend plans are looking bright.  Sorry for missing last week’s Wedding Wednesday post – it’s back on its regular schedule program starting now.

Today’s wedding post is all about helpful resources.  With the wedding industry blowing up the past few years there are a ton of different places to look for insight and inspiration, from websites to blogs to books.  You could spend hours upon hours of your time looking through all these different resources, many of which have the same information just laid out in a different format.  That’s where I’m hoping to help with some of my favorite resources that aided in my planning.

Source

Where to start?

I think the first thing every newly engaged bride should do is start herself a wedding binder that she can use to keep track of everything wedding related.  Some items I recommend putting in your binder:

  • Wedding Timeline, Checklist and Vendor Worksheets (contacts, contract information, payment details, etc.)
    • Russell and Hazel has an awesome  printable template from its site.  Buy yourself a cute three-ring binder and assemble in any order you want
    • eleGALA also has another printable template that you can print directly from its site.  I don’t like the layout of this template as much but I think there’s some useful information from the planner
    • If you are looking a pre-assembled binder, The Knot just came out with a great planner
  • Page protectors
    • These will come in helpful to store all of your ideas and inspiration, from color swatches to tear outs from magazines an ideas you may have printed off the internet.
  • Tabs
    • You’ll want to keep organized by subject, so here are some ideas for labeling your tabs:
      • Ceremony – church or venue contract, flower arrangements, song choices, musician contracts, important marriage documents
      • Reception – venue contracts, catering menus, decor inspiration, seating charts
      • Stationery – Save the Dates, invitations, RSVPs, Reception cards, direction cards, place cards, programs, thank you’s
      • Bakery, Florist, Favors, Attire – contracts and inspiration
      • DJ – contract, song choices
      • Accommodations – contract with hotels, welcome bag lists, room reservations for wedding night
      • Miscellaneous – details that fit into one of these other categories
  • Blank pages for comments, notes, etc.

 

Now that you have everything together for your planning binder, let’s start talking inspiration resources.  Below are my favorite websites [non-blogs] to reference for inspiration:

  • The Knot – I love The Knot because there is so much to look at and reference.  I used this site a lot when planning my wedding for vendors as well as ideas for centerpieces, music ideas, etc.
  • Minnesota Bride – Because my wedding was located in Minnesota, this was a great local resource for planning.  They had a ton of information on local vendors, a lot of featured real weddings [great inspiration for checking out what other brides have done with your venue or who had a similar vision].  If you are not local to Minnesota, this is site might not be quite as helpful, but it’s still a great resource if you’re looking to get everyday inspiration.
  • Loverly – This site is similar to Pinterest only it’s only for wedding inspiration.  I really like that you can search by color, topic [centerpiece, reception, flowers, etc.] and it finds posts from around the blogosphere that match up to that search.  It returns in the form of photos that match your search criteria and then allows you to reference the entire blog post to so you can see the event as a whole.
  • Pinterest – Of course I could never forget Pinterest.  This was one of my favorite resources when planning my wedding because of the endless amount of photos that turn up.  I love that you can save your inspiration to different boards based on category.  I’m pretty sure I had like 12 boards for just my wedding alone – feel free to check them out here.  The downside, which I’m sure many of you have experienced, is that the links are sometimes broken and you can’t view the entire content.

My favorite blogs that I reference, and still do, are below:

  • Style Me Pretty – I consider this to be the mecca of all wedding blogs.  The weddings they feature are just beautiful and the site is just so easy to maneuver through.  I love the little stories that accompany each wedding feature so you get to know the couple a little better and get to understand their process.  Extremely helpful for brides planning their own weddings.
  • DIY Bride – I really liked this site because I knew I wanted to have some DIY elements to my big day.  Not only can DIY projects save you money, but they allow you to put your own personal touch on your wedding.  DIY projects aren’t for everyone, but if you think you’ll want to put a little DIY touch on your day, be sure to check out this site to get plenty of inspiration!
  • Every Last Detail – Another great blog that features real weddings, tips and advice for brides planning their weddings.
  • Emmaline Bride – This quickly became one of my favorite blogs to follow because of all the unique tips and ideas.  It’s another great resource for brides who are looking to have some DIY touches on their day and the topics cover a wide range of wedding topics – from asking your bridesmaids to be part of your day to easy centerpiece projects to music ideas.

There are many, many books and magazines out there to reference, too.  Magazines are fun, but you can often find a lot of the same content on blogs.  The Knot puts out a local magazines every few months that feature real weddings, which I think is super to fun to look at.  I also subscribed to Martha Stewart Weddings but later found myself not really looking through it.

What are you favorite wedding blogs and sites to look at?  What tips do you have to stay organized?

Xo,

Cammi

One thought on “Nearly to Newly Engaged: Wedding Planning Resources

  1. Pingback: Nearly to Newlywed: Choosing Your Vendors – Pt. 1 | From Nearly to Newly

Leave a Reply

