Just Another Manic Monday

This weekend was a busy one so I didn’t really have time to write like I should have.  I was hoping to get a good post out tonight, but my work day turned into a 10 hour day so I’m not feeling all that inspired anymore.  So tonight’s post is all about what I’m up to at the moment [which, if you haven’t already guessed, is nothing that requires a lot of brain power].

I’ll start by recapping my weekend.  After work on Friday the hubs and I had a meeting with our financial planner.  He was great – super engaging, and it made me a bit more relaxed talking finances with some guy I don’t know.  I should preface this by saying that my husband has been working with this guy for the past few years and even trains him from time to time, so to them it was like going out for beers… only we pay him a decent of amount of money to make sure our money’s in the right spot.  So strange.  Oddly enough, part of the meeting felt like marriage counseling.  He asked if we’ve sat down and talked about our life goals and where we see things near retirement.  Now I’m a goal setter, but let me tell you, lately my goals seem to be taking jagged turns all over the place.  I’m sure the hubs is surprised annually by the crazy things I think up.  Unlike me, his goals are pretty clear and have been since we’ve started dated.  Lucky me, I guess.

Anyway, after our meeting we went and grabbed some dinner at TGI Friday’s and then took in a movie with his brother.  We saw Captain Phillips with Tom Hanks.  I totally liked it and totally held my breathe at the end to keep from sobbing in front of two guys who seemed less than fazed by Tom Hanks amazing acting skills.  If you’re looking for a good movie that’ll keep you on the edge of your seat but isn’t full of blood and gore, then this is one I would recommend.

Saturday I got up, got a few things done around the house [and by a few things I mean I created my honey-do list for while I was gone] and then headed out for girls night up in Gull Lake.  It was me and my besties from college out in the “sticks” for the night.  My friend who hosted us at her house had a great day planned, which included a little facials party thrown by her family friend, lots of drinks and food, a haunted house at Paul Bunyan Land and a night out at the local bar.  We had a blast!  I totally forget how much fun we have together because it’s been ages since we’ve all been in the same room!  Below is a pic of us post-haunted house, posing with Babe – I wonder how many camera flashes he’s seen in his day? [PS – please don’t mind the poor photo quality… it was really dark and my iPhone did all it could to make this photo op work.]

Sunday was spent driving [in the snow might I add], napping and unpacking more wedding gifts.  My honey-do list was completed for me on Sunday so I felt a little bad being so lazy after he got so much stuff done. Hashtag good wife.  Then, after all my hard work the hubs took me out to dinner at Mongo’s.  Side note, if you live in the Twin Cities, I would highly recommend this Mongolian grill!  It’s a quick place to get fresh stir fry, made any way you like!

So, let’s continue this post all about me [so vain, I know].  I love the “currently” posts that I’m seeing all over the blogs I follow.  I think it’s a great way to learn more about the writer behind the keyboard.  It’s also an easy way to get a post up without having to do too much thinking.  Thank you to whomever came up with this brilliant idea!  So, without further adieu, here’s my list of currently’s.

Listening: Vikings game.  Yes, I’m a diehard Vikes fan.  I also have the Vikings Defense, Kyle Rudolph, Eli Manning and Hakeem Nicks playing in my three fantasy football leagues.  Nights like this make it hard to watch because I want to win my fantasy leagues but I would really love for my favorite football team to win.  Football problems.

Eating: I just got done stuffing my face with some leftover tacos from a little Mexican place near our house.  One of my girlfriends and I capped our girls weekend off there.  I can’t think of a better place to do so.

Drinking:  Nothing at the moment… But that reminds me that I should have some water.

Wearing: Skinny jeans, this cute cream button up from H&M [thank you grand opening sale!] and a red plaid scarf.

Feeling:  Stressed, happy, tired.  There’s a lot going on right now but I got some good news today that’s making it a little more worth it.

Weather: OK, this one is a little depressing.  I already mentioned earlier in this post that it snowed on my ride home from northern Minnesota yesterday.  Well folks, there were also snow flurries this morning on my way to work and I left when it was dark out.  It’s officially the close of fall – all seven days of it.  Lame sauce.

Wanting: Oh, where do I start with this one?  I want to shop till I drop for house decor and winter clothes.  I want to blog more.  I want more books to read [and more time to read them].  I want to work out [and more energy to get to the gym].  I want a new office.  All appropriate, right?

Needing:  To work out.  A better diet.  To put another hour or so tonight getting my work email under control.

Thinking: About the future – where I want to be, what I want to do, life goals [and why they keep changing], how I wish I had more time to spend on my little blog; how Pebbles needs a brother/sister.

Enjoying:  the little things, like snuggling on the couch watching a football game with my little pup.

****************************

There you have it – a glimpse into my Monday evening and “crazy” weekend.  I’ll be back this week with some more insightful content.

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

