Nearly to Newly Domestic: 5 Last-Minute Thanksgiving Dessert Ideas

I can’t believe Thanksgiving is tomorrow; talk about a holiday sneak up!  If you’re anything like me, you usually wait until the very last minute possible to figure out what you’re bringing to the ol’ family get together.  This year, it has been requested that I bring cheesy potatoes… I made these a few years ago and they were a huge hit.  If there’s anything I can tell you about my family’s Thanksgiving feast, it’s that we’re none too short on carbs.  But that’s not the real story here; it’s all about dessert today.  And in addition to the cheesy potatoes, I’ve also volunteered to bring a dessert because the pie choices that we’re having aren’t my cup of tea [I’m not a big pie person, give me cake, cupcakes, cookies and brownies and I’m a happy girl; pies, not my forte unless it’s cream cheese or chocolate].  So today I wanted to share with you a few easy, last-minute dessert ideas so you don’t have to show up to your Thanksgiving celebration empty handed [or in case you are like me and need to bring your own dessert because you’re too picky to eat what others bring].

1. Brownie Shooters with Cool Whip
These look delicious and are simple to make.  Simply bake your favorite brownie mix, add a dollop of cool whip and a fresh strawberry and you’ve got a dessert many people are sure to love!

2.  Cookies and Cream Frozen Pie
I’ve actually made this recipe a few times and I can vouch that it’s perfect for those of you who are chocolate lovers but are looking to keep the added lbs to a minimum this season.

3. Butterscotch Pumpkin Pudding
I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie at all, but I felt it would be anti-Thanksgiving if I didn’t include at least one recipe that was pumpkin related.  I like that this recipe mixes a little butterscotch in for extra flavoring and it’s not your traditional pie.

4. Pomegranate Mousse Pie
This one isn’t as easy as the last three but it’s sure to impress the other guests!  I have recently started to love the taste of pomegranates so this is a recipe I’ll have to add to my collection.

5. Cherry Cream Cheese Pie
One of the only pies I’ll eat, this is the perfect [and easiest] dessert for a last-minute guest to bring.  I. just. love. it.

I hope I’ve armed you with a selection of desserts that you feel you can bring to your Thanksgiving event on Friday.  My hope was to provide you with some other ideas to set you up for a great holiday, but alas life got in the way.  I am, however, curious to find out what your favorite Thanksgiving dishes are – and what you’re thankful for this year?  Tomorrow we’ll be back with our list of things we’re thankful for… but in the meantime, we’ll be dreaming about these delicious desserts [well, except for the pumpkin one….]

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

