Nearly to Newly Jolly: Favorite Christmas Movies

Happy Hump Day, friends!  I hope you all are getting back in the swing of things after the holiday last week.  I, for one, am having a hard time adjusting back to full work days [and a full work week].  I think that all work weeks should be 4 days with a 3 day weekend.  It only seems fair, right?  Plus, we’re exactly three weeks away from Christmas.  Can you believe it?!  It 21 short days the holiday season will be over… and in 28 short days we’ll be celebrating the end of 2013 and looking forward to what 2014 has in store.  Where did this year go?!

We continue the Week of Christmas posts today with my favorite Christmas movies.  If you read yesterday’s Christmas Bucket List post, you would know that one of my bucket list items is to watch 5 Christmas movies; but that’s only a minimum.  There’s just something about Christmas movies that really get you in the Christmas spirit.  They also bring me back to my childhood when I would watch some of these over and over before the big holiday!

So here we go – I hope you enjoy the list [by the way, these are in no particular order as I love all of them]!

Elf – This is seriously one of the funniest Christmas movies out there.  I could watch this even when it’s not Christmastime.

The Santa Clause – This continues to be one of my all-time favorite movies.  I think growing up it was my favorite.  The sequels are OK, but they’re totally not as good as the original.

Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas – I love must say I love the animated original, but the Jim Carey version takes the cake.  Such a great file.

Home Alone – a classic for my time [I’m an 80’s baby].  Seriously, what kid hasn’t dreamed of having a house to themselves the way Kevin did in this movie?

Miracle on 34th Street – Yes, the original… and yes, the one in color.  This movie totally puts me in the Christmas spirit.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation – a total crack-up; one can’t have a Christmas movie list without this comedy included.

It’s a Wonderful Life – Growing up I wasn’t a huge fan of this movie [probably because it was in black and white], but as I’ve gotten older I’ve grown to really appreciate it.  A definite Christmas Classic.

A Charlie Brown Christmas – This movie never gets old, no matter what age you are.  And every year I look forward to the night it’s shown on national TV.

The Original Christmas Classics – specifically Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and Santa Clause is Coming to Town.  I grew up watching these and there’s something so nostalgic about watching them as I continue to get older.

Four Christmases – the newest movie on the list, I added this because it’s a little rom-com and I love Reese Witherspoon.  Plus, we all know how crazy family time can get around the holidays when in relationships.

In addition to sharing my favorite Christmas movies with you I wanted to share a recipe of hot chocolate – because let’s be honest, there’s nothing better than curling up and watching your favorite Christmas movies with a hot cup of cocoa [ok, wine is pretty good, too, that’s not very Christmas-y].  Plus, this will cross another item off my Christmas Bucket List! 🙂

I came across this recipe on Pinterest, originally posted on GlaamSpot by Lipstick Blogger’s site, and it was claimed to be the best hot chocolate recipe ever.  After reading the recipe, I must say it sounds delish!  Ingredients include sugar, baking cocoa, milk, miniature marshmallows and vanilla extract.  Make sure you head over to the post to check out the details on how to make this – I can’t wait to try it out!

I hope you enjoyed reading today’s post as much I enjoyed writing it!  I’ll be back tomorrow with more Christmas goodness.

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

