Blog Me: A Week of Good Reads

Hi friends!  It’s hard to believe the weekend is already coming to a close and that it’s back to reality tomorrow.  As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, it’s supposed to be absolutely freezing this upcoming week – so I’ll likely be hibernating under a blanket most evenings… after I fulfill some of my New Year’s goals that is [I can’t give up on them less than a week into the new year after all].  Speaking of goals, I created a few for this little blog for the next year.  I’ve created little rewards for accomplishing these said goals – like a little blog refresh.  I’m really excited for that.

One of my blogging goals is to start and maintain a weekly series.  I feel like a weekly series will hold me accountable and maybe offer a little “content” break for those days that I’m not feeling too inspired [is it sad that I’m planning for that already?].  So starting today, Sunday’s will be dedicated to sharing my favorite posts from the past week and what’s on tap for the upcoming week.  Hopefully you will find a few new blogs that inspire you as much as they’ve inspired me!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Source

There was a pretty strong theme amongst all the blog posts from this past week: how to make 2014 your best year yet. Posts were filled with goal setting, ways to simplify your life, ways to better you life and what’s on tap for the next 365 days.  Sometimes these are my favorite posts because it expands on my goals or provides me inspiration for new goals.      I also just get inspired to try new things: a goal that’s always on my mind, just not during the new year.

:: I don’t know about you, but our house could use a good organize-fest so this post from Honey We’re Home was just what I needed to read.  Megan offers some great tips on organizing everything from your jewelry and shoes to medicine.

:: I loved this post on letting go and finding peace written by Shanna of Because Shanna Said So.  Like most of us, we’re so focused on changing what we don’t like that we forget to embrace the good around us.  I’m challenging myself to focus on positive things this year and not dwell on the negatives.

:: The ladies from A Beautiful Mess started a book club!  As some of you may know from posts this past week, one of my goals this year is to read more and what better way than to join a virtual book club?  January’s book was already on one of my reading lists [not on the one I shared with you all] but I’m thinking I’ll add it to the list for January.  How about you – will you be reading more this year?

:: I’m a lover of inspiring quotes so naturally I loved this post from The Daily Muse.

:: My DSLR camera hasn’t had much use since it was purchased last year, so I’m looking to change that in 2014.  Click It Up a Notch had a couple of great posts on photography goals and tips that I plan on using over the course of this year.

:: Do you follow the blog Style Me Pretty?  This recap of their favorite posts was a great read [and reference] to all they featured in 2013.  I’ll have some posts to go through in my downtime the next few days.

:: Interested in a little post-holiday entertaining?  This fun party idea from Project Gadabout will not only help you purge those items from the deepest, darkest part of your closet, but allow you to enjoy some time with your besties.

:: After a night out [or in] with your besties, it’s likely you’ll wake up feeling it the next morning.  I mean, we’re not as young as we used to be [or is that just me?].  Make sure you read this post from Style Me Pretty before the party so that you’re prepared for what you will likely endure post-party.

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

