Nearly to Newly Fit: My Goal to Shape Up

When I was preparing for the wedding, I had a handful of posts dedicated to fitness that had good turnouts amongst the blog community so I thought I would bring those posts back.  Clearly it can no longer be called the “FitBride” series as this girl is no longer a bride… now I’m just the hubby’s ol’ lady.  Funny how a couple of rings and some vows can change the title so quickly.  I will continue with workout ideas and of course inspiration on what to wear and listen to, because I firmly believe that working out will never be fun BUT it will be tolerable if I can wear something cute and listen to good tunes.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’ve got the cliche goal to start working out and get in shape this year.  This “goal” has been part of my new year’s goals for like the past 5 years and each year I fail miserably.  One would think I would either a) push myself harder to make sure I succeed, or b) realize that I’m just never going to be one of those people who can commit to her health and a skinnier waistline.  This year I’m pushing for option A so I need to come up with a plan to ensure I succeed at said goal.  How am I going to do it?  Well, this way of course:

Oh, who am I kidding?  I won’t have time to take names with all the fat ass kicking. 🙂  But really, in all seriousness, I’m making it my goal to try new things in the workout world.  Clearly what I’ve done in the past [i.e. nothing] isn’t working for me, so maybe a little variety is just what I need.  Oh, and accountability.  Yes, definitely accountability.  And because everybody knows that if you blog it, it must be true, here’s what I’m trying this week:

Monday:  Kettlebells taught by the hubs.  I used to take his Kettlebell class every Monday and Wednesday, but then wedding planning and a crazy work-life happened and I have skipped out for the past few months.  Monday I’m bringing sexy kettlebell class back.

Tuesday:  One-on-two training.  [that definitely sounds dirtier than it should.]  One of my besties and I are doing a training session with a personal trainer at a gym close to our house [and no, it’s not with the hubs].  This is where accountability comes in – if I skip I not only let her down but I’m wasting the time of the trainer and being married to one I know how upsetting that is.

Wednesday:  Rest.  With not working out in what feels like a decade I know my body well enough to know it’ll hurt to sit down and pee after two days of working out.  A rest day will definitely be needed. [For those of you wondering, the hubs cancelled kettlebell class on Wednesday’s so I have another reason to rest my sore old bones on the couch instead of lugging them to the gym for another day of self-inflicted assault.]

Thursday:  Cardio and Core.  10-minutes on the treadmill, 10 minutes on the bike and 10 minutes on the stair climber.  30 cart-rollouts, 30-second side planks (each side) and 30-crunches [repeat 2x].

Friday: Rest.

Saturday: Quick, at-home workout:  40 jumping jacks, 30 crunches, 20 squats, 10 pushups.

Sunday:  Rest.

For you workout buffs, what do you do to hold yourself accountable on those days you don’t want to hit the gym?  What do you use as motivation?

Xo,

Cammi

One thought on “Nearly to Newly Fit: My Goal to Shape Up

  1. Pingback: Nearly to Newly Fit: Fitness Goal Updates | From Nearly to Newly

Leave a Reply

