Book of the Month Review: Do Cool Sh*t

Happy Friday, ya’ll!  I hope you are as pumped for the weekend as I am.  I don’t really have any plans beyond testing out the new items I got for my camera and cleaning up some of the rooms in our house.  It’s been nice to have relatively quiet weekends after the craziness that was the holidays.

Today I wanted to share with you my thoughts on the first book I finished for 2014.  You may remember from this post, written back at the beginning of January, that one of my goals for this year was to read at least one book a month [stop over to that post to see some of the books I have on my reading list for this year].  I wanted the first book of 2014 to be something that was encouraging, informational and insightful; I wanted it to motivate me for the months to come.  With that in mind, I chose one of the books I received for Christmas: Do Cool Sh*t by Miki Agrawal.

Do Cool Shit Book Review

Synopsis: Do Cool Sh*t is a book about how a young 20-something [Miki Agrawal] started her own farm-to-table pizzeria in New York City.  Starting from the ground up, this books provides tips on how any potential entrepreneur can start their own successful business with little to no connections.

Targeted audience: students, graduates or anyone looking to receive tips and ideas on what it takes to be an entrepreneur.

Review:  This book was a little hard for me to get into.  After reading the description on Amazon, I thought it would be a quick, light read that would provide lots of insight and tips on starting my own business.  While I felt there were some good tips to keep in my back pocket, I didn’t think it was a beneficial read for every entrepreneur, which is what I was expecting.  Agrawal had some great successes when it came to starting her business, and although it says on the books jacket that she did it all with no connections, the way some of it was written made me second-guess that.

Some parts that stood out most to me was the way she pulled together a group of influential people to discuss her idea for a farm-to-table pizzeria in the NYC area.  I also really enjoyed the piece about cohesive branding and that in order to get noticed you have to stand out.  The way she announced her doors opening to key media was simply brilliant, hilarious and definitely memorable.

In my opinion, the last few chapters of the book were unnecessary; it felt as if they were just trying to make the book thicker by throwing in a few ideas.  These chapters were about maintaining a healthy work-life balance, doing things for your community and so-on.  I honestly can’t remember what they all were because I kind of just thumbed through the remaining pages because it was reiterating life-lessons I’m already aware of… only she was trying to extend it into too many chapters.

Overall grade:  B-  |  I was expecting something a bit more eye-opening and maybe something that appealed to a broader audience, but I feel the advice that was written in Do Cool Sh*t pertained more to people looking to open a brick or mortar store, not necessarily a business of smaller scale.  As I mentioned above, there are a few cool takeaways, but in all honesty I sometimes felt like the author was more gloating about her new lifestyle than motivating me to want jump into the world of entrepreneurship.

Have you read any great inspiration business books lately?  After finishing this book I decided I need a lighter, non-fiction read so I started Where’d You Go, Bernadette last night.  It’s a really easy read so I anticipate I’ll be done with it in the next week or so.

If you have any books you would recommend, fiction or non-fiction, send them my way!  And if you’re on GoodReads, stop by and shoot me a connection request.

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

