Will You Be My Valentine, Vodka?

I’m really excited about today’s post!  This past Sunday I was hard at work mixing, shaking and taste-testing some yummy cocktail concoctions so I could share them with you all this week.  Valentine’s Day is on a Friday this year so what’s a better way to say I love you than with a delicious drink?  I say there’s nothing like some alcohol to rev up your libido for the holiday of loooove!  I’m sure I’m not the only one who says that, right?  Right?

Valentines Day Cocktails

I should start by saying that I’m definitely not a trained bartender and if I had captured this whole experience on video it would have solidified that I should always remain on the side of the bar that’s being served the cocktails, not the one making them.  But since no video was taken, I’ll let your imaginations run with it.  Now before you get too scared that the drinks I’m about to share with you end up tasting terrible, I will let you in on a shameful little secret:  these recipes are not my own, but rather created by my lovely cousin [aka best friend, aka maid of honor from wedding, aka ex-bartender extraordinaire] so the ingredients actually taste good together [I can virtually hear everyone’s sighs of relief].

Sexy Gummy Bear

The Sexy Gummy Bear
1 part Bacardi Razz
1 part Peach Schnapps
3 parts lemon lime soda
2 parts cranberry juice

In a shaker, combine Bacardi Razz, Peach Schnapps and ice and shake a few times until liquor cools.  Pour into an old fashioned glass over a few ice cubes and top with lemon lime soda and cranberry juice and mix.
* I’m more of a vodka girl and I had that on-hand so I modified this recipe a bit with 1/3 shot raspberry vodka, 2/3 Malibu rum and 2/3 peach schnapps and it tasted delicious!

I tripped on cupids arrow

I Tripped Onto Cupids Arrow
1 part Raspberry Smirnoff
1 part Peach Schnapps
1 part cranberry juice
2 parts lemon lime soda
Splash of orange juice

In a shaker, combine vodka, peach schnapps and a few ice cubes and shake until liquor cools.  Pour into a highball glass over a few ice cubes, top with cranberry juice, lemon lime soda and splash of orange juice and mix with a straw.

my drunk valentine

My Drunk Valentine
1 part Raspberry Smirnoff
2 parts lemon lime soda
2 parts soda water
1 part Poms pomegranate juice

Mix chilled vodka, lemon lime soda and soda water and add to champagne flute, topping with pomegranate juice.
* Since this isn’t being served over ice, used chilled vodka or add to a shaker with ice to chill.
** This was the strongest of the three drinks I mixed, hence the name! 🙂

VDay Delight [not pictured]
1 part vanilla vodka
1 part Bailey’s
1 part Godiva Chocolate liqueur
1 part Chambord
Hershey’s chocolate or raspberry syrup for decor*

Mix vodka, Bailey’s, chocolate liqueur and Chambord with ice in a shaker and drain into martini glass.
* If you are looking to dress this cocktail up a bit, try decorating the inside of your martini glass with the Hersey’s syrup [hearts, swirls, words, etc.] prior to draining mixture.

I didn’t make that last cocktail because I honestly didn’t have any of those liquors in my alcohol arsenal but it sounds delightful, as its name suggest.  And if you are wondering, yes I did make those names up myself and no I didn’t spend all day thinking about them [which is why they’re not as creative as they could be].  If you have some clever drink names you think would be fitting for these cocktails of love, please share in the comments below!!

I’m sure you are now all craving cocktails and ready to head to the liquor store to stock up on the essentials for Valentine’s Day.  Feel free to play around and add more or less of the ingredients listed – as we all know, it’s all about how they taste and how drunk we want to get. 🙂

I’ll be back with a few more Valentine’s Day ideas this week so make sure you come back now, ya hear!

Xo,

Cammi

4 thoughts on “Will You Be My Valentine, Vodka?

Leave a Reply

