Blog Me: A Week of Good Reads

Well, another weekend has come and gone and we’re staring at another work week.  How is it that those two glorious days off can go by so quickly?  Last week was a real doozy at my full-time job – like a 70-hour doozy, which is why things were pretty quite around this little corner of the internet.  I’m anticipating it to be another crazy week so today I’m parked at a cozy local coffee shop trying to plan out the upcoming week’s post.  I find that I’m most productive when I’m away from the distractions of home [cough, cough, Pebbles and the hubs].  Does anyone else feel this way?

I didn’t do much beyond work this past week so I don’t have much to share for fun life updates.  I did, however, treat myself to a massage yesterday.  After working that amount of hours in a week I felt it was well deserved AND needed.  I couldn’t help but notice through my 60-minutes of heaven that there were some points that I just kind of tensed up and wondered if the massage therapist questioned who was on her table.  Let me caveat this by saying that I pretty much rolled out of bed, threw on some yoga pants, a t-shirt and sweatshirt and drove myself to the appointment.  So that made me think – what are those parts of the massage that jolt me out of relaxation?  Here are my top 5:

1.  Unshaven legs. OK ladies, I know you all know what I’m talking about.  It’s winter and I’m not wearing anything that exposes my legs so why not wait a little bit longer between shaving my leg days?  Well, it’s fine until you make an impromptu massage appointment and you all you think about during the leg rubdown is if your massage therapist thinks Chewbacca is on their table.

2.  Being Ticklish.  I’m not overly ticklish by any means, but there are certain spots that if massaged just right make me jolt and twitch until it’s left alone again. Usually these spots are on my back and feet, which is an area that I need massaging the most. [I blame it on the high heels and my 5’2 height.]

3.  Love handles.  Nobody, and I repeat nobody, likes to have their love handles pushed in ways that remind them they’re there.  Maybe mine are just getting bigger than in the past because I don’t think I’ve ever noticed how awkward and wide-awake I became when my masseuse started pushing my muffin top around.

4.  Unwashed hair.  Because this week was crazy, I hadn’t washed my hair for a solid three days [let me tell you how thankful I am for dry shampoo], so when it came to the head massage I wonder how much gunk got caught on her fingers.  This brings me back to point one and whether or not she thought Chewbacca was on her table.

5.  The awkward ending.  I’m not talking about happy endings here, folks [um… ew.]… but that awkward time at the end where the massage therapist asks how everything was and just kind of stares at you.  Toward the end I’m so relaxed that my brain isn’t usually firing on all cylinders so my answer may or may not make 100% sense.  It’s like suddenly getting woken up and being given a pop quiz; it’s best to wait a few minutes.

I hope I’m not the only one who has these thoughts/experiences.   Have you had an awkward experience during a massage?

Source

:: I’m still trying to tackle some DIY projects soon and this tutorial for a mini leather wallet on Wonder Forest has made my list.

:: I’m trying to decide what to do above the bed in our guest room and think this starburst mirror would look perfect!  The tutorial is on the Sarah Hearts blog and can be done for less than $40!

:: I’m pretty obsessed with grilled cheese sandwiches paired with tomato soup; it’s been a staple meal in our house this winter.  With that said, it should be no surprise that I love this post on Style Me Pretty made it to this week’s favorites.

:: I really liked this post on Notes from a Newlywed on the things she does differently to feel more grown-up.  It makes me think of all the things I do differently today than I did 5 years ago.

:: You read above about my lack of hair cleansing for a few days, so I’m thinking this hair trick posted on Stripes & Sequins is a must-try one night this week.

:: Do you ever talk yourself into buying something because the packaging is so pretty and irresistible?  I totally laughed about this post on From Roses because this girl is also an advertisers dream.

:: So spring is supposedly right around the corner [although Minneapolis’ forecast must not realize it] so it’s time to jump start that summer workout, right?  FitSugar posted 13 tush-toning exercises that I’ll be working into my weekly routine.  And even though I despise cardio, FitSugar also posted a good cardio workout for new runners.

:: Apartment Therapy posted these great tips on keeping your home guest-ready even if you hate to clean [I think this post was written with me in mind].

:: Even though I just talked about getting my body in bikini-shape, I can’t help but post a couple of yummy-sounding recipes.  I really want to try out these 4-ingredient brownies posted on A Cup of Jo and these brownie batter cookies posted on The Girl Who Ate Everything.

What were some of your favorite blog posts from around the web this past week?

Xo,

Cammi

4 thoughts on “Blog Me: A Week of Good Reads

  1. Thanks for the shoutout in your list! I too have had weird massage experiences, like when the masseuse is way too talkative and I just want ot enjoy it free of conversation, but I’m too scared to say anything so I just start responding in grunts, lol!

Leave a Reply

