Book of the Month Review: Gone Girl

Happy Sunday, friends!  I hope the weather is just as enjoyable wherever you are as it is here in Minneapolis.  It’s crazy how many people come out of the woodwork here in Minneapolis when the thermometer hits above 50 degrees.  And even though I’m holed up in a little coffee shop a few blocks for our house, I can honestly say that it feels ah-may-zing to walk outside the house without a coat, hat and mittens.  This is what true Minnesotans live for.

Anyway, today’s post is different from the typical Sunday post [ok, typical Sunday post from a few weeks ago since the radio silence on this little blog has continued the past few weeks.  Eeep…. sorry about that].  Because of the radio silence I have some other posts I wanted to catch up on instead of sharing my favorite blog posts from the week.  So instead of blogs we’re talking books today – hopefully that’s not too disappointing.

You may remember that one of my goals for the year was to read a book a month.  Well, in late January some work colleagues and I decided we wanted to start a book club that meets once a month.  We’re on our third month, so starting book three.  The first book was The Husbands Secret by Liane Moriarty; I thought it was tough to get in to.  I was only able to get about 3/4 of the way through before our group meeting and found that most of my colleagues felt the same way.  Needless to say, I didn’t end up finishing the book – which is totally unlike me.  And with that in mind, I’m not reviewing it because I don’t think it’d be fair.  Month two was Gone Girl.  This book had been read by many of my colleagues already, but those of us who hadn’t read it, it was all on our lists to read.  [It was actually on my to read list for 2014].  Because I actually finished this one, I decided it should be reviewed… and why not let you all know that I thought! 🙂

Gone Girl

Synopsis [taken from Amazon]:  On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary.  Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River.  Husband-of-the-year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worth daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on the edge.  Under mounting pressure from the police and the media, as well as Amy’s doting parents, the town golden boy parades and endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior.  Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter, but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love.  With his twin sister, Margo,  Nick stands by his innocence.  Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife?  And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

Targeted audience:  Anyone who loves a good mystery [I’d say this is likely a read for women but guys might enjoy it, too].  Not ideal for anyone who may cringe from some bad words or how don’t like to be messed with psychologically.

Review:  This book is a little hard to review without giving away too much of the plot line, so it might be a little general without too many details [if you decide to read it, you’ll understand why after you’ve finished].  Overall, I thought the book was pretty good.  I thought the beginning started off a little slow and I thought parts of it were a little predictable… but then there definitely were parts that I didn’t see coming.  There were parts of the book that messed with ones mind psychologically, getting a little dark, but I was told that would likely happen.  I think I’m in the majority when I saw the ending wasn’t great; I’m not sure how I would have liked it to end, but I did not like the way Gillian chose to end it.  I am definitely excited to see how they make it into a movie later this year – I’ve heard that they’re changing the ending so I think I’m intrigued to see what happens.

Overall grade:  B+  |  There’s been a ton of hype about this book since its release in 2012 and has been on my book list for the past two years.  With the beginning not being super engaging, it was a little tough to get started, but after reading about 1/3 of it the storyline became more interesting.  As I mentioned above, I wasn’t a big fan of the ending but it wasn’t like it spoiled the whole book for me.  I definitely think it’s a book to read if you’re interested in suspense thrillers… but beware: it might play with your psyche a little bit!

Next month I’ll review Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight; it’s another suspense book so be sure to check out the review at the end of April if you’re interested in hearing about it.

If you have any great books that you’ve read lately, be sure to leave a comment!  It will be my turn soon to make the book club selections and I would love to share some book selections from you all!

Xo,

Cammi

3 thoughts on “Book of the Month Review: Gone Girl

  1. Found your blog last night and binge read the entire thing (please tell me other people do this?). I loved Gone Girl, but I watched the movie trailer last night and I’m kind of disappointed. The book is just always better! I think you will really like Reconstructing Amelia – it jumps around a little bit, but I couldn’t put it down!

    • Thanks for stopping by; I’m glad you liked what you read! I just heard the trailer came out for Gone Girl – I’ll be taking a peek at it as soon as I can. I heard they were going to change up the ending so I hope that’s true! I’ll be doing my review of Reconstructing Amelia later this month – I agree, it was a good read and I couldn’t put it down! 🙂

Leave a Reply

