Real Life: A Battle of Early and Late Twenties

Check, check… is this thing on?  Yikes.  It’s been more than two months since my last post.  Life has been crazy busy the past couple of months and to be quite honest, I’ve felt a lack of motivation and inspiration lately.  I recently bought the “Blog Life” e-course from the ladies of A Beautiful Mess so that I can find that inspiration again, as well as create a cohesive brand and style for my little corner of the internet.  I have a million ideals [ok, that’s a little exaggerated] floating around my head for blog post ideas that need to be fully developed.  I hope as my vision progresses you enjoy it!

So, now that we got that out of the way, let’s get on with today’s post – getting older.  Last weekend I celebrated my 28th birthday.  Twenty-eight… like officially late-twenties.  Ugh.  I’ve realized that as I get older I find myself getting less and less excited about the dreaded birthday rolling around.  Plain and simple, I’m not ready to get older.  I think it’s because I don’t feel old enough to be considered an adult even though I’m doing all the things adults are supposed to do.  I’m married, I’m successful in my full-time job, I care of my dogter [as is dog daughter], I have a 401K.  That’s all real adult stuff, yet for some reason I feel like I’m not old enough to consider myself an adult.  Does anyone else feel that way?!

Well, since growing older is ultimately inevitable and I need to accept it, I’ve been trying to be positive and think of all the reasons getting older is actually cooler than I give it credit.  Here are a few reasons that I think my late-twenties are gonna kick my early-twenties ass.

Experience
Obviously with age comes experience.  I continue to discover things I like and don’t like; who I care about and who to cut loose [I don’t have time for people who bring me down]; and what really matters.  I’ve grown a lot.

Staying in on the weekends is OK
In my early twenties if I stayed in on the weekend it was likely because I was ill [and note, weekends in my early twenties usually consisted of Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights].  These days I’d take a night on the couch watching Friends reruns over a crowded bar anytime.

I can afford nicer things
With age usually comes disposable income, which means nicer things.  My cupboard is now filled with matching dinnerware, glasses and silverware, my furniture all matches and I can afford to change up my decor as I see fit.  Gone are the days of hand-me-down sofas, cups from bar promos, and bedroom furniture of different wood shades.  I’m also making payments toward a mortgage instead of some landlords pocketbook.

Developing real hobbies
In my early twenties I didn’t really have any hobbies beyond hanging out with friends on the weekends and sleeping.  Now I’ve discovered real hobbies to occupy my personal time.  I’ve switched up hangovers for reading, blogging [err, sometimes], learning to cook and bake, and fitness, amongst other things.

Marriage
Obviously I had to include this one.  While me and the hubs began dating when I was 20 we took our relationship to a whole new level less than a year together and have enjoyed married life thus far.  It’s an awesome feeling to know you have a life partner in crime… and I mean that in the best way.

 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I guess when you look at it that way, getting older is not all that bad.  But, let me remind you of a few things I don’t love:  recovering after a night of drinking; metabolism; wrinkles; and a lack of work-life balance.

Anyone else out there that has a hard time with getting older?  How do you deal with it?

Xo,

Cammi

Leave a Reply

