Nearly to Newly Domestic: Easy Snickerdoodle Cookie Recipe

Wow, almost two months since I’ve last posted.  I guess you could say there’s quite a bit that’s happened these past couple of months that I’ll be sharing in some upcoming posts, most notably a new job that I’m hoping will allow me to spend more time on my little corner of the internet.

I had my last day at my previous employer two weaks ago and was able to enjoy a few extra days off, which was so incredibly nice.  It allowed me time to get some things crossed off my to-do list that have been lingering for far too long as well as do some activities that I haven’t really had the motivation to do these past 6 months or so… which is why I’m here today posting about an easy peasy snickerdoodle recipe because baking is always something I like to do when I have some time to kill.

I guess you could say I’m a pretty novice baker and tend to stick to simpler recipes for fear that I’ll completely screw something up.  That’s not to say that I don’t mind trying new recipes, I actually look for easy, delicious recipes to try on Pinterest all.the.time (go ahead and check out my ‘dessert ideas’ board now – you’ll probably feel your thighs growing by just looking at all the mouth-watering photos).

So, on to snickerdoodles.  This recipe only calls for 5 ingredients and minimal prep and bake time, and is pretty fool proof if you ask me.

Slide1

Ingredients you need

– 1 box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix
– 2 eggs
– 1/4 cup vegetable oil
– 3 Tbsp sugar
– 1 tsp cinnamon

Prepping and Baking

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a smaller prep bowl, mix together sugar and cinnamon and set aside.

Mix cake mix, eggs and vegetable oil in a large mixing bowl, stir until well-blended (no powder mix remains).  Roll dough into 1-inch balls and then roll in sugar and cinnamon mixture.  Set onto a greased cookie sheet, leaving about 2 inches between each ball.  Using the bottom of a glass, flatten balls into round cookies (optional: sprinkle sugar and cinnamon mixture on top of flattened cookies for richer taste).  Bake for 8 to 9 minutes until outer edges are light golden brown.  Allow cookies to sit on pan for 1 minute before moving to cooling rack. Enjoy.

 

See, that was super easy right?  If you forget to pin this recipe, you can also find it on the side of the Duncan Hines yellow cake box! 🙂  These are perfect if you’re looking for a quick treat or need to whip up a dessert last minute.  The perfect fall cookie (ok, or anytime cookie).

Leave a Reply

